Agriturismo "Olhovo"

gallery/2762

 

Sights of Volkovysk district

gallery/123
gallery/gnezno
gallery/113
gallery/d94
gallery/1472

         The first written mentioning of Volkovysk (an annalistic denomination "Volkovyesk") in the Ipatiev chronicle refers to the year 1252, where it was named a frontier fortress. Later on, the historians determined a more earlier date of the birth of Volkovysk — the year 1005. It was confirmed officially by the decision of the town Soviet's session. Starting from the XIV century Volkovysk made part of the Great Principality of Lithuania. The Volkovysk's gonfalon participated in the Grunwald battle of the year 1410. Starting from the XV century it had been an area center, from the XVI century — a center of the Volkovysk District. In the year 1503 the town obtained the Magdeburg right. A castle on the river Volkovys was an administrative and economic center. Starting from the year 1795 it had made part of the Russian Empire. In the beginning of the Patriotic war of the year 1812, general P. I. Bagration's quarters, a commander of the 2nd Western Russian Army, were located over there.


          From the 15th of January 1940 it became a center of the Volkovysk Region.


         Nowadays Volkovysk is a town with the population of more than 43 people. In the town the following enterprises operate: a dairy and canning combine of the children products, a meat-packing plant, a canning factory, a bread production factory, the casting equipment and metal articles factories. The next architectural monuments have been preserved: the Vazlavsky Roman Catholic Church and the Nikolaevskaya Church of the XIX century, the Country Estate House (Bagration's House). In the Region the Yan's Roman Catholic Church (of the year 1773, village Vovpa), the Mikhailovskaya Church (XVIII century) and the Petropavlovskiy Roman Catholic Church (of the year 1778) in village Isabelin are also known.

 

          At a distance of 3 km from the Volkovysk is Gniezno, which exists from the late XIV - early XV century, and was mentioned in the Lithuanian metric as the village of the Grand Duke of Lithuania. Here is an interesting monument of the transition period from Gothic to Renaissance - a dark red church of Michael the Archangel (1527). The building of the landlord's house with two outbuildings and household buildings (30-40-s of the XIX century), remains of landscape with romantic features of the park with the original water system is preserved. 

 

         In 10 km from argoecohose "Olhovo" one can find "Belarussian maldives".  Four chalk pits near Volkovysk are the most popular among tourists and locals. 

 

          "Belarusian Maldives" appeared after the mining of chalk or limestone, which resulted in such a turquoise water. Turquoise-blue water and white cliffs make this place attractive primarily with its views. Krasnoselsk and other chalk pits are considered to be a technological area, and access here is limited. But when the summertime comes, a large number of curious people and romantics rush to this place to enjoy the wonderful view. It is hard to resist the temptation to see the "Belarusian Maldives" driving just a couple of hundred or even dozen kilometers. It is an incredible experience to stay overnight in a tent near such a miracle. Depth along the shore is not great, but in the centre it reaches 15 meters. Chalk pits area is huge, and the length is up to 4 km.

 

           Due to the fact that this attraction appeared recently, there is almost no well-equipped infrastructure here. But, if you're careful, nothing will disturb you from resting and enjoying the breathtaking "Belarusian Maldives". We really recommend you to visit Belarusian chalk pits, as it is one of the main attractions of the country.

 

          The unique archaeological site, the only one in Eastern Europe, is the flint mines and the nearby parking lots and workshops for its processing of the Stone and Bronze Ages near the town. Krasnoselsky and its neighboring villages. Survived more than 80 almost undamaged workings. On this territory there is also a cemetery of the 3rd millennium BC, a settlement of the Iron Age and the Middle Ages. Since 1969 the Krasnoselsky archaeological complex has been declared a state reserve. The monuments of nature are fragments of parks in the villages of Shnipovo, Machulno, Vereyka (early 19th century), Teolin (XIX century), Subochi (late XIX century). In the Vaukavysk forestry a king-oak grows, which is 500 years old.

 

www.000webhost.com